Repairer Driven News
« Back « PREV Article  |  NEXT Article »

Former LKQ, Nationwide head named CAPA executive director

By on
Share This:

The Certified Automotive Parts Association (CAPA) has named former LKQ and Nationwide Insurance administrator Terry Fortner as its new executive director.

Fortner assumed the role on Jan. 1, succeeding Clark Plucinski, who works with The Boyd Group. Plucinski is chair of the CAPA Board of Directors.

“Terry will bring a wealth of experience to CAPA, and I am thrilled to hand over to someone with his knowledge and enthusiasm,” Plucinski said in a news release. “The Board looks forward to CAPA’s continued success under his leadership.”

Before becoming director, Fortner spent two years working with CAPA until it was decided his role would be expanded. He spent 32 years in leadership at Nationwide then joined LKQ Corp. in 2009. During his 13-year tenure, he led industry relations and corporate accounts then served as North America vice president of sales and marketing. Fortner is currently chief advisor for Fortner Advisory and Development. He has also served as chair and chairman emeritus for the Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF).

During a 2017 Collision Industry Conference (CIC) panel discussion on legislative proposals to take active consumer consent to alternative parts away, Fortner said written consent helps car companies monopolize parts sales. While saying, “absolutely, disclosure is important,” the then-LKQ corporate accounts vice president opposed shops asking a customer to approve the parts used on their vehicle.

Fortner added that LKQ had talked to a lot of consumers who said “they are absolutely comfortable” with disclosure alone.

In CAPA’s Jan. 2 news release, Fortner said, “I am proud to be a part of this great organization which has set the gold standard for high quality, alternative parts for over 30 years,” Fortner said in the release. “I look forward to creating strategic relationships and continuing to build on this legacy, which has already contributed immensely to the automotive industry.”

CAPA’s Board of Directors are:

    • John Rowland – Krause Auto Group
    • Mark Scafati – LKQ
    • Chris Northup – Professional Parts
    • Sandee Lindorfer – Allstate
    • Kim Hare – Farmers Insurance
    • Troy Penry – GEICO
    • Brian Fening – Liberty Mutual
    • Jim Gadberry – Nationwide
    • John Reton – Progressive
    • Brianne Jones – State Farm Mutual Insurance
    • Jeff Procaccini – Travelers
    • Jack Gillis – Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety
    • Kerry Tapio – Intertek


Featured image: Terry Fortner (Provided by CAPA)

More information

UPDATED CAPA Tracker now sends part issue notifications through app

Share This: