Repairer Driven News
« Back « PREV Article  |  NEXT Article »

SCRS invites industry to Red Carpet Awards Breakfast; event features AMI, BSB, CIECA, I-CAR, NABC honors

By on
Announcements | Associations | Education | Repair Operations
Share This:

The Society of Collision Repair Specialists on Thursday invited the industry to its second annual Collision Industry Red Carpet Awards Breakfast during SEMA Week.

Hosted with support by fellow presenters Automotive Management Institute and BodyShop Business, the event “will feature some of the most prestigious awards and recognitions from industry organizations that highlight standout individuals and businesses in the collision repair industry,” SCRS wrote Thursday.

The free event will be held from 7:30-9:30 a.m., Wednesday, Oct. 31, in Westgate Las Vegas Ballrooms D-E. Seating for the 200 seats is first come, first served.

“The Collision Industry Red Carpet Awards Breakfast places a priority on encouraging and recognizing greatness in individuals, companies and actions in the collision repair industry, and the excitement and energy of the SEMA Show provide the perfect backdrop for such distinguished presentations,” SCRS wrote Thursday.

AMI will present the AMI Graduating Class of 2018, and BodyShop Business will crown Executives of the Year in the independent and MSO categories.

Other presenters include the Collision Industry Electronic Commerce Association, which will bestow its Outstanding Achievement awards and the Electronic Commerce of the Year Award; I-CAR, scheduled to name its Chairman’s, Jeff Silver and Russ Verona Memorial Award winners for 2018; and the National Auto Body Council, which will honor the recipients of its Award of Distinction and Body Shop Image Award categories.

SCRS wrapped up the 2017 awards breakfast by honoring G.W. and Son Autobody owner Gary Wano Jr. with the inaugural March Taylor Kina’ole Award. It plans to recognize another nominee again this year, and encouraged “all who were touched by March, and who have felt his absence in our lives to join us for this very touching memorial award.”

The Hawaiian word “kina’ole” represents “doing the right thing, in the right way, at the right time, in the right place, to the right person, for the right reason, with the right feeling, the first time.”

SCRS on Thursday said this sentiment was installed in the organization by the late March Taylor, owner of Auto Body Hawaii and a former SCRS board member. Taylor died Aug. 26, 2007.

The award honors Taylor’s memory while recognizing another who lives up to the “kina’ole” ideal.

“It’s important to us that we continue to embrace the legacy that March left behind,” SCRS Chairman Kye Yeung (European Motor Car Works) said in a statement. “The concept of doing the right thing, at the right time, for the right reasons and without any other motivation is really a celebration of pure passion for moving the industry forward. It’s recognizing those who have not motive, no agenda, just a genuine desire to help do good. We are really excited for this next presentation, and to have the opportunity to recognize people in the industry who exemplify these traits.”

Other 2017 Collision Industry Red Carpet Awards Breakfast winners included:

National Auto Body Council

Award of Distinction: Gene Crozat, G&C Auto Body, Sonoma County, Calif.

Body Image Award: Dave Neistroy, 3D Collision Center, Conshoshocken, Pa.

Collision Industry Electronic Commerce Association

Company of the Year:

Outstanding Dedication: Steve Betley, Insurance Auto Auctions

Outstanding Contribution: Janet DeBerardinis, Caliber Collision

Outstanding Leadership: Chad Sulkala, Allstate


Russ Verona Memorial Award: Jim Guthrie, Car Crafters, Albuquerque, N.M.

Jeff Silver Award: Richie Webb, Virginia Farm Bureau, Mechanicsville, Va.

Board of Directors Chairman’s Award: Gene Scambray, Copart

BodyShop Business

Executive of the Year (single-shop): Rick Cope, Cope Collision Center, Meridian, Idaho

Executive of the Year (multi-shop): Steve Kendrick, Kendrick Paint & Body, Augusta, Ga.

More information:

“Invitation to Collision Industry Red Carpet Awards Breakfast at 2018 SEMA Show”

Society of Collision Repair Specialists, Oct. 11, 2018


The Society of Collision Repair Specialists in named G.W. and Son Autobody owner Gary Wano Jr., not pictured, the first March Taylor Memorial Fund Kina’ole honoree on Nov. 1, 2017, during the Collision Industry Red Carpet Awards Breakfast. The award is a framed copy of one of Taylor’s iconic work shirts. From left, Jeff Hendler J.D. Hendler/Associates; Aaron Schuleburg, SCRS; Barry Dorn, Dorn’s Body and Paint; Dale Matsumoto, current owner of Taylor’s shop Auto Body Hawaii; and Toby Chess, Kent Automotive, pose with the award. (Provided by SCRS)

Some of the collision repair industry’s leading organizations handed out their highest awards in 2017 during the Society of Collision Repair Specialists and BodyShop Business’ Collision Repair Red Carpet Awards Breakfast. (John Huetter/Repairer Driven News)

Share This: