Repairer Driven News
« Back « PREV Article  |  NEXT Article »

I-CAR board elections: GM, State Farm, Allstate remain; Va. body shop joins

By on
Announcements | Associations | Education | International | Repair Operations
Share This:

I-CAR announced Thursday members elected new directors to represent the OEM and collision repairer segments and re-elected two insurance industry representatives on the board.

Barry Dorn, the vice president of Mechanicsville, Va.-based Dorn’s Body & Paint, will replace outgoing director Gary Wano Jr., owner of Oklahoma City, Okla.-based G.W. & Son Auto Body, in one of the four designated collision repair seats on the board.

A designated OEM board seat being vacated by General Motors wholesale dealer channel collision manager John Eck will stay in the hands of the General. Voters elected GM global aftersales mechanical engineering director Jennifer Goforth to the board.

Voters re-elected State Farm property and casualty auto claim consultant Chris Evans and Allstate auto claims design director Sandee Lindorfer to continue as insurance industry representatives.

“On behalf of I-CAR’s Board of Directors, I am thrilled to add two new highly qualified individuals to the I-CAR Board of Directors and retain two key contributors for second terms,” I-CAR board Chairman Kyle Thompson said in a statement. “These individuals are in keeping with our goal to operate a strategic Board, representing the key industry segments that I-CAR serves, broadening and deepening the Board’s strategic insights and guidance during one of the most transformative eras of modern collision repair.”

Other board seats held by outgoing directors Tim Hession, director of GEICO auto damage training; Gerry Poirier, Farmers auto property damage manager; and Marcy Tieger, managing director of Symphony Advisors, will go unfilled.

I-CAR in 2019 voted to scale down a 22-seat board to 13 directors, with the option to add up to four more “Hybrid Directors” for shortened, single-year terms to support knowledge gaps or strategic initiatives.

The new board format guarantees auto body shops four of the 13-17 board seats, with OEMs and insurers each getting three seats. The “Education,” “Equipment, Tool and Supply” and “Related Services” segments each get one seat.

“These new and returning members will collectively provide critical insights and guidance on behalf of the inter-industry, as we remain firmly committed to advancing I-CAR’s vision: ensuring complete, safe and quality repairs on behalf of the consumer,” I-CAR CEO John Van Alstyne said in a statement Thursday. “I also wish to extend my personal thanks and well wishes to those Board members who will be completing their Board terms in August.”

More information:

I-CAR governance webpage

Featured images: Clockwise from top left, I-CAR board members Barry Dorn (Dorn’s Body & Paint), Chris Evans (State Farm), Sandee Lindorfer (Allstate) and Jennifer Goforth (General Motors). (Provided by I-CAR)

Share This: